Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Texas Government Code requires that all complaints against police officers be in writing and signed by the person making the complaint. Making a false complaint is a violation of the Texas Penal Code and can result in a fine and time in jail.
Since the relationship between the community and our officers is based on confidence and trust, our effectiveness is greatest when we and the community work together to reach this goal. We appreciate hearing from you. Your input makes a difference. When you file a complaint (PDF), the Internal Investigations division must contact you. An officer will let you know an investigation has begun and inform you that you will receive a written notice of the results.
Complaint investigations are completed within a reasonable time. Most are resolved within 30 days after we receive them. We file regular status reports on longer investigations.
Based on available facts, the complaint is classified in one of four categories:
If the allegations are sustained, appropriate action will be taken. The action may involve training, verbal or written reprimand, suspension from duty or termination. You will receive a letter informing you of the findings.
Show All Answers
Residents should call 9-1-1 only for police, fire or medical emergencies. When calling 9-1-1, stay on the line and try to remain calm with your information ready. If you are calling to file a police report, and it is not an emergency call (830) 334-4169 option 1. A police dispatcher will receive your call and ask for you name, contact number and address. To contact a specific Pearsall Police Department employee or unit call 830-334-4169 option 2.
To report criminal activity or information on unsolved crimes please fill out the form below.
CRIME TIP REPORT FORM
All vehicles will be stored at:911 Veterans DrivePearsall, TX 78061
Charges include $175 for towing, plus related fees, storage charges which will accrue at $20 per day until vehicle is removed. A notification fee of $50, a lien holder fee of $50 if applicable and in impound fee of $20, total charges cannot be computed until the vehicle is removed. The storage charges will accrue daily until the vehicle is removed. Vehicles are released between 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday 1 one-hour notice, unless prior arrangements have been approved. Proof of ownership and insurance is required to reclaim the vehicle.
The failure of the owner and all interested parties to exercise its right to remove the vehicle within 20 days of the postmark of a notice, said time periods constitutes a waiver by the owner and all interested parties of all rights, title, and interest in the vehicle and said owner and all interested parties' consents to the disposal of the vehicle as provided by law. Owner and all interested parties further appoint the Pearsall Police Department as agent to execute said release and any and all documents as may be required to dispose of the vehicle.
The City Ordinance related to towing can be found at the following Web site under Chapter 28, Section 28: The Code of the City of Pearsall, TX.
Sec. 28-4.8. - Same—Towing and wrecker service.
(a)Application for permit. Every company approved by the City Council to provide non-consent towing services within the City and desiring to be placed on the permitted wrecker list shall make application in writing, on a form provided for that purpose, to the Chief of Police. Such application shall contain the name, address, telephone number, the number and types of wrecker equipment operated and the owner of the business. Every application when filed shall be sworn to by the applicant and accompanied by a fee in the sum of $125.00 plus $25.00 per tow truck to be used on City streets. Said fees are non-refundable. The applicant shall file as an attachment to the application the following:(1)A certificate or policy of public liability and property damage insurance meeting the requirements of section 10-142(6)a and b.(2)A certificate or policy of public liability and property damage insurance meeting the requirements of section 10-142(6)a and b.(3)Cargo insurance or a surety bond to cover damage to a towed vehicle during a hookup or towing, in an amount satisfying the requirements of section 10-142(6)c.(b)Renewal of permit; annual fees. All permits shall be renewed during the month of December each year. A newly issued permit shall be valid until December 31 of each year of its issuance and may be renewed at any time during the month of December. The fee for renewal of each permit shall be $75.00 plus $25.00 per tow truck to be used on City streets. Said fees are non-refundable. A permit may be renewed upon payment of the annual fee and the execution of a verified statement that the information on the original application form continues to be valid. If any of said information is no longer valid, the permit holder must present the corrected information at the time of renewal of the permit.(c)Towing charges and storage. A wrecker owner is hereby authorized to collect up to, but not more than, the following fees for services rendered as a result of a call from the City, a call resulting from being on the permitted wrecker list, or the request of any person who is not the owner of such vehicle. Such fee shall include the use of all equipment during a tow, such as double hookup, dollies, winching or a flatbed.
1) For vehicles not requiring a heavy duty wrecker ..... $175.00.
Basic towing charges include:
2) For vehicles requiring a heavy-duty wrecker ..... $300.00.
3) Disregard fee after wrecker arrives by request of police officer ..... No charge.
4) Storage fees. Storage fees shall comply with applicable State law.
5) All other labor: $100.00 per hour, charged prorated in 15-minute increments. This does not include charges incurred by the service for rented or subcontracted equipment for the cleanup.
6) The wrecker service may charge no more than the amount granted by the State and charges for impoundment fees if they preserve a vehicle or remove and store personal property from the vehicle for safekeeping.
The above fees and charges for towing services are not applicable to vehicles towed at the request of the owner of such vehicle and for such owner requested services are not regulated by this article.
(Ord. No. 2017-02-02, §§ 7, 14, 21, 2-21-2017)
Unless there is another violation of a law, or if there is immediate concern for the welfare of a child, an officer will not make an arrest. The officer will document the violation in an offense report.
These are civil matters that only a court can enforce. An officer cannot assist with contract disputes.
Unless there is some other violation of a law, this is a civil issue that an officer cannot mediate. If the court orders a person removed from a property, a City Marshall will serve the eviction notice (if applicable). The Constables Office may ask for assistance from the Pearsall Police Department. Interfering with a court ordered eviction is a violation of the law.
Participation in a neighborhood watch program can help reduce crime in your area.
To be eligible for a neighborhood watch sign, we ask that 50 percent of your neighborhood or block attend one to three meetings where helpful information is shared about personal and property crimes. Tips include how to reduce your chances of being attacked.
Contact your neighborhood association president or your area District Representative Unit (See citywide map of districts) for more information.
To take care of traffic tickets or traffic warrants (also city ordinance, red light cameras and parking violations) contact the City of Pearsall Municipal Court at 830-334-4160 or visit the court's website: Municipal Court. Traffic tickets can be paid over the municipal court at 830-334-4160 or via Internet, by mail, or at court. Municipal Court has different hours than the Police Station. The police station is open to the public Monday-Friday 8 a.m. - 5p.m. The Downtown Municipal Court is open from 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m., Monday through Thursday, and closed for lunch from 12:00 – 1:00 p.m.
Typically, when an offense has been reported to the Police Department, a uniformed officer takes the report and forwards it to the Criminal Investigations Division for review. Cases are reviewed for several solvability factors (e.g. Is there a named suspect, license plates number, physical evidence present, etc.).
Cases with workable leads take priority over cases that have a low probability of being solved. Some cases, by their very nature, are always assigned for follow-up. These types of cases would include homicides, robberies, sexual assaults, kidnappings, and aggravated assaults. Once a detective receives a case with workable leads, the detective will attempt to make contact with the complainant as soon as possible.
Cases lacking workable leads are still assigned to a detective, but a follow-up investigation will usually not be initiated unless additional leads develop. In these cases, a detective will contact the complainant informing them of the status of their case. At any time during the intake and review process, complainants can call the Criminal Investigation Division office to inquire about the status of their case.
While it is our goal to review and assign cases within 24 hours of the initial report, weekends and holidays will often delay the review and assignment process.
If your property was found, and if the Detective has a way to contact you, he or she will contact you and talk to you about returning the property.
If you have not been contacted by a detective, call 3-1-1 with your case number to update the case and property information over the phone (this includes adding serial numbers and other case information.)
The case must be submitted through a computerized system that checks for errors and routes the report to the appropriate division. Once the case arrives to the correct division, a supervisor must assign the case to a detective. Once the case is assigned, it is prioritized by the detective. If there is an error in the way the report was written or filed a delay is possible. If the detective is working weekends, nights, or hours outside of the time the case was assigned a delay is possible.
Please use this form and we will be happy to let the Chief of Police and that officer know they are appreciated.